Useful resources


Allocation agreement template – Iwi groups having common ownership of NZUs need to send an agreement to the FEUT in order to receive the NZUs from the NZEUR. Note that this agreement is a template only and is intended to assist parties to reach and record agreements relating to the subject matter.  Independent legal advice should be sought; FEUT is not providing legal services by making this template available, and its use does not create a lawyer-client relationship between FEUT and any other party. FEUT gives no warranty as to, and accepts no liability arising from, the suitability of this template agreement for any purpose. 

Carbon Farming Group - The Carbon Farming Group is an independent not-for-profit organisation which provides information to the rural sector on climate change.

Carbon market information - Carbon News provides intelligence and analysis of value to decision makers in the carbon markets. Carbon News meets the new emission markets’ demands for specialist information not available in other daily and generalist business media.

Climate change information – This website contains information about climate change, its impacts and implications, and New Zealand’s overall approach to climate change.

Crown Forestry Rental Trust (CFRT) – Assists Māori to prepare, present and negotiate claims against the Crown which involve, or could involve, Crown forest licensed lands.

Environmental Protection Authority (EPA) – The Environmental Protection Authority (EPA) was established on 1 July 2011. From January 2012 the administration for the Emissions Trading Scheme under the Climate Change Response Act 2002 is performed by the EPA. Prior to that date these functions were the responsibility of the Ministry for the Environment and the Ministry of Economic Development. The Ministry for Primary Industries will continue to be responsible for forestry activities.

Land Information New Zealand (LINZ) – LINZ manages the Crown forest land and Crown forestry licences as set out in the Crown Forest Assets Act 1989. The licensees pay rent which is collected by LINZ and transferred to the Crown Forest Rental Trust.

Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI) - The Ministry for Primary Industries is responsible for developing and implementing interventions and initiatives for the sustainable development of New Zealand’s agricultural, food, forestry and related sectors, and the protection of New Zealand’s biosecurity status.   The Ministry is responsible for the administration, rules and procedures participants must follow in order to comply with the Emissions Trading Scheme.

Ministry for the Environment (MfE) - The Ministry is the Government’s principal adviser on the environment in New Zealand and on international matters that affect the environment.  It is responsible for climate change policies and the administration of the Climate Change Response Act 2002.

New Zealand Emission Unit Register (NZEUR) – The NZEUR website provides access to the Government’s online registry, where people can join the NZEUR and then open accounts to either participate in the NZ Emissions Trading Scheme or to trade units.

Office of Treaty Settlements (OTS) - A government agency established to negotiate, on behalf of the Crown, settlement of historical Treaty of Waitangi claims.

Te Puni Kōkiri (TPK) – A government agency that promotes Māori development and provides general advice to the Government on matters affecting Māori.

Waitangi Tribunal  (WT) - A permanent commission of inquiry established under the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975 to hear claims made by Māori against the Crown that can make recommendations in light of its findings.